The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) was founded by a cadre of distinguished female journalists in 1989 to strengthen the role of women in news media, recognize their sacrifices and honor their contributions. This year, we honor the trailblazers from broadcast and print journalism who pioneered a way for women to break barriers. The reach, scope and value of the IWMF’s position today would not have been possible without what came before.

IWMF Courage Award Winners

Lucía Pineda

News Director, 100% Noticias - Nicaragua

The state of press freedom in Nicaragua is dire. Lucía was arrested in December 2018 for, “inciting hate and violence,” after her news outlet – 100% Noticias – reported on abuses by government forces. She…

Read More

Anna Nimiriano

Editor-in-Chief, Juba Monitor - South Sudan

The only female news editor in South Sudan, Anna has been reporting for more than 15 years in one of the world’s most compromising countries for journalists. While working in Khartoum, Anna has been imprisoned,…

Read More

Liz Sly

Beirut Bureau Chief, The Washington Post

Described as, “the dean of Middle Eastern correspondents,” Liz’s 37 years in journalism have rendered her fearless, despite constant government surveillance. Most recently she has covered the war in Syria and has reported in-country more…

Read More

Nastya Stanko

Broadcast Journalist - Ukraine

Nastya is a journalist, TV presenter and member of the Ukrainian “Stop Censorship” movement; in 2013, she co-founded the independent media channel Hromadske, and is the deputy editor-in-chief. Anna has been attacked by the government…

Read More

Anna Babinets

Investigative Journalist - Ukraine

Anna, based in Ukraine, works to expose government corruption despite enduring threats since the Maidan Revolution began in 2013. As the editor-in-chief and head of investigative journalism at the non-profit organization SLIDSTVO.INFO, Anna produces stories…

Read More